DIY: Simple Rhinestone Necklace

DIY| Rhinestone Necklace

 

Lately, I’ve notice something about my collection of jewelry. Most of my necklaces are statement pieces, which I love. But, I have very few simple delicate necklaces that can be layered. I like to wear simple necklaces on weekends with tee shirts, as well as with button downs to work. A quick DIY later, and I have myself a nice simple necklace with a little bit of sparkle!

Supplies-necklace

 

Supplies

  • Small chain
  • Lobster claw closure
  • 2 jumprings
  • Headpin with loop
  • Rhinestones
  • Round nose pliers
  • Wire cutters

DIY| Rhinestone Necklace

 

  1. Cut the chain to length. For a necklace that sits close to your neck, cut the chain between 16 and 18 inches (40-45 cm). Mine is 16 inches (40 cm) long. Next, cut the chain in half.
  2. Take your headpin and thread your rhinestones on. Make a loop at the other end. You can do this by taking your round nose pliers and bending the pin to a 90-degree angle. Trim the pin to approximately ½ inch (1 cm). Squeeze the end of the pin in the pliers and round them down to create a loop.
  3. Open one loop with the pliers and thread the chain onto the loop, then close. Repeat with the second piece of chain on the loop on the opposite side.
  4. Take your jumprings and twist them open. I like to use two pairs of pliers to do this, but pliers and your fingers work just as well. Thread one end of the chain and a lobster claw onto one jumpring and the remaining end of the chain to the other jumpring. Twist the jumprings closed.

When I wore this necklace to work, one of my younger students came up to me pointing at my neck and yelling “No Korean Teacher!!” To them my necklace looked like Korean characters. At least it’s good to know that my students enforce the No Korean rule!

DIY| Rhinestone Necklace

3 thoughts on “DIY: Simple Rhinestone Necklace

  1. Pingback: DIY: Rhinestone Earrings |

  2. Pingback: DIY: Rhinestone Statement Necklace |

Leave a Reply

